Monday, January 22, 2007

Industry News Flash

Apparently, agent Caren Johnson has left Firebrand to start her own agency. This might be a great chance to get in with a new agency for those of you out there looking!

Caren Johnson recently began her own literary agency, Caren Johnson Literary Agency. She began her agenting career four and a half years ago when she started an internship at Peter Rubie Literary Agency. She stayed at the agency for three years, the first year as an intern and two years as an agent. She then left to join Nadia Cornier at Firebrand Literary where she stayed for a year. She recently made the switch to agenting on her own so she could work more closely with her authors in building their careers. She would like well organized, well crafted stories in the areas of romance (particularly romantic comedy in the vein of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jenny Cruisie and Kelley St. John; and historical in the vein of Susan Carroll, Diana Gabaldon, and Lauren Willig—high concept only please!), Teen fiction (in the vein of Caridad Ferrer/ Adios to My Old Life, Scott Westerfeld/ Uglies Trilogy) and commercial fiction (in the vein of Christopher Moore/A Dirty Job, Carl Hiaassen/ Nature Girl). For the moment she’s full up with wonderful paranormal romance (Caridad Pineiro, Lee Roland) and romantic suspense (Caridad Pineiro, Dianna Love Snell) authors so if an author submits in this genre, she will be more critical than she normally is. She is only accepting queries via email so send to caren@carenjohnson.com.

4 comments:

  1. Anonymous8:14 PM

    Curiouser and curiouser.
    Teri

    ReplyDelete
  2. It's VERY interesting news...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Likes humor huh? Hmmm.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I find this interesting too, because she dropped a friend of mine a couple weeks before making this change. She's made room for fresh blood. It'll be interesting to see who she picks up.

    ReplyDelete